Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Matb <mbreton@**.NETCOM.COM>
Subject: Re: Fw: Questions about Deckers in Shadowrun CCG
Date: Sat, 30 Aug 1997 07:08:51 -0700
> > Alright, here is a couple questions about Deckers.

> > 1. A decker counts for being on a run (agaist the maximum of 6 runners),
> > but is not present and may not be targeted by challenges, correct?

Pages 35 and 36. If you really wanted to, you could physically send him
any run - give him a big enough gun, and he'll move the world.

> > 2. If a decker is assisting a run in the about way, is his group hampered
> > by his "anti-social" skill (if of course the runner in question has
> > skill)? Is he present on the run (the key words in the description of the
> > anti-social skill)?

Anti-social (p. 28) takes effect on any run the character is "present"
in; to be present means to be involved in the shadowrun - "all Runners
on a shadowrun as well as the curretly revealed Challenge." So the
anti-social decker keeps the friendly wiz-mage from making nice with the
cops, yes.

> > 3. Slight timing question. According to the rulebook, if two people want
> to play cards at the same time, the person whose turn it is goes first. My
> > friend has a decker, which I believe states "Turn to steal 1 nuyen from
> > your opponent, yadda yadda yadda". Anyways, during my friends turn, he
> > decides to go on a run (without this runner), and I have just enough
> nuyen to play Green Apple Quickstep, and I declare to play it. He then responds
> > by turning his decker, and saying "Alright, I will take one of your
> nuyen, you can no longer play the card, and it is discards". Is this really what
> > happens? We are REALLY confused on this one. Can you respond or back up
> an action? Can cards "fizzle" if you no longer can pay the cost?

Oh no.. more MtG. :)

Once a card is declared, the money is spent and it is resolved on the
spot. Period, end of report. If the Sticky-Fingered Decker went first,
you wouldn't have the yen to use the card with; but if you went first,
the money is already spent, and the card already resolved.

If it's your turn, you get to go first; if it's your friends, he goes;
if it's someone else's, you each roll d6 and the highest goes.

Can you use a Loaded Die on this? :)

> > Well, thanks for your time!!!!


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.