Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Loki <daddyjim@**********.COM>
Subject: Re: Fw: Questions about Deckers in Shadowrun CCG
Date: Sun, 31 Aug 1997 16:33:47 -0700
---Rob Harris wrote:
> Well, here's a few more questions on the same vein. Anyone want to
wager a
> guess about the awnsers? Should I send these to "Scuzzies" email
> specifically? I am just mailing the generic fasa account right now.

Skuzzy has answered some of the questions I've sent to the FASA
address for SRTCG questions. I wouldn't bombard his personal address
with SRTCG gaming questions.

> ----------
> > Alright, here is a couple questions about Deckers.
> >
> > 1. A decker counts for being on a run (agaist the maximum of 6
> > but is not present and may not be targeted by challenges, correct?

Correct. Except they can be affected by Decker specific challenges
like Closed System.

> > 2. If a decker is assisting a run in the about way, is his
group hampered
> > by his "anti-social" skill (if of course the runner in question
has said
> > skill)? Is he present on the run (the key words in the description
of the
> > anti-social skill)?

No, he is not "present" as in physically with the group, so I don't
believe anti-social will affect anything. Niether do I think his
actual skills should be counted in factoring whether the group may
sleaze a challenge. In other words, a decker with the Technical skill
who's not physically present on a run would not let the group sleaze
the electric fence. However, a his decking with a matrix utility like
Steamroller may get them past it.

> > 3. Slight timing question. According to the rulebook, if two
people want
> to
> > play cards at the same time, the person whose turn it is goes
first. My
> > friend has a decker, which I believe states "Turn to steal 1 nuyen
> > your opponent, yadda yadda yadda". Anyways, during my friends
turn, he
> > decides to go on a run (without this runner), and I have just
> nuyen
> > to play Green Apple Quickstep, and I declare to play it. He then
> > by turning his decker, and saying "Alright, I will take one of your
> nuyen,
> > you can no longer play the card, and it is discards". Is this
really what
> > happens?

I believe the card you're describing is Ice Queen, turning her causes
your opponent to lose a nuyen. However, I also believe the card (I
don't have my cards at work) states this is done during the legwork
phase. In you example, your friend was past the Legwork phase and into
his Shadowrun phase.

There's also a matrix utility called Sticky Fingers that lets you
steal a nuyen from your opponent as long as they have two nuyen or
more. Again, I don't have my cards with me so I can't give you the
exact wording of sticky fingers, but my hunch is it may only be used
during the Legwork phase as well.

Now, another opinion I have is that the point may be moot. You've
already spent the nuyen to deploy Green Apple Quickstep.That money is
gone. So by the time he taps his decker to take the nuyen, there's
either nothing there to take or the nuyen he can take i what's left
after you've paid for Green Apple.

Anyways, that's my two nuyen's worth. Let me know what FASA comes back

@>--,--'--- Loki

Fearless Leader of the Shadowrun Trading Card Game Mailing List
Web Page: Poisoned Elves at

"You're calling me Bitch like it's a bad thing."
--> CrapGame during the Drive in the Country tournament
Sent by RocketMail. Get your free e-mail at


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.