|Subject:||Re: Better Offer|
|Date:||Wed, 1 Apr 1998 05:25:21 -0800|
> 1. I take it that if the upkeep cost isn't paid, that the special is
> trashed, and not the runner, correct?
> 2. If a mercenary is in the Lonestar Lockup and someone plays a Better Offer
> on him, does this get him out of jail and into their safehouse? And if the
> upkeep isn't paid, does the runner return to the safehouse or LSL.
I've always played that Runners in LSL can't be targetted by any in-game
effects, which solves this, and a potential bundle of other problems,
> 3. In a mulitplayer game, with multiple Better Offers played on a merc, does
> everyone need to pay their upkeep cost fo the card? And if so, if anyone
> doesn't and That Better Offer is trashed, does the runner go back to the
> original player now or to the last person who played Better Offer? If this
> is correct, then I guess you could play BO on your own runner who someone
> else took via BO and then forget about paying the upkeep cost and get to
> keep your runner since you're the original owner.
Everyone would need to (assuming they want to!) and, yes, he would cycle
back in the reverse order of how Better Offers were played on him.
For example: I have Cherry Bomb in play; Mark played a Better Offer on
her last turn, and Jim playes a Better Offer on her this turn. Jim is
her current owner; if Mark keeps paying upkeep and five turns down the
line, Jim doesn't, she becomes Mark's (again). He could choose, on turn
three, not to pay Upkeep, and Jim's Better Offer would remain
untouched. Only when both Better Offers are removed would it revert to
the original owner (unless, of course, the owner pays for his own Better
It's just like Control Magic in MtG. Except no silly blue mana symbols.
Who's been passing dreams around? - T. Paxton
Teen Poets FAQ: http://pw1.netcom.com/~mbreton/poetry/poetfaq.htm
SRTCG Website: http://www.geocities.com/Area51/Station/2189/ccgtop.htm