Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Tony Glinka <porthos@****.COM>
Subject: Re: Double Jeopardy
Date: Wed, 1 Apr 1998 10:26:40 -0700
Tony Glinka wrote:

> Bradley Aaron Rebh wrote:
>
> > On Wed, 1 Apr 1998, Donald Arganbright wrote:
> >
> > > Heres an example. I'm in a four player game and I have double jeopardy
> > > and chomps 2000 on my objective. the other three players decide to pick
> > > on my objective. the first guy runs against it and hits chomps. he
> > > goes home and the demon dog lives on. the second guy runs. He kills
> > > the chomps 2000 challenge and smashes into the double jeopardy challenge
> > > that is now a chomps 2000 and goes home. Now the third guys runs
> > > against my objective. Heres the question. Is the double jeopardy still
> > > a chomps 2000 or just a bluff (since I haven't had a turn to play any
> > > other challenge and no one else has either)?
> >
> > I'd say the Double Jeapordy would be a bluff. You always could play
> > Reinforcements and then slap down a bunch more challenges. Otherwise,
> > you're SOL.
>
> I am pretty sure we got an "official" answer for this one at one point
and
> I think it said that if the Double Jeopardy is the first challenge faced on a
> shadowrun it IS a bluff (i.e. the case above).
> I can't for the life of me find the official response for this. If any one
> has a old copy of it please send it to me so it can be included in the Q&A. I
> found some references to it in the old logs but not the first post of it.

Actually, I went and dug out the binder and looked this one up. You can disregard
my request for mention in the Q&A since the actual card text helps out.

"Treat Double Jeopardy as an exact duplicate of the last challenge card revealed
during THIS shadowrun. Ignore Double Jeopardy if it is the first Challenge
revealed on an objective."

Because of the "THIS shadowrun" the 3rd guy of the case above would ignore the
Double Jeopardy as long as it was the first challenge revealed. If the 2nd guy
had challenges down and the 3rd guy faced those first, this may not be the case.

Here's a question to ponder.... Is "ignore" the challenge different from
"treat as
a bluff?" How does the relate to objectives like Cleanse the Hive which turns
challenges into insect spirits. We know if a bluff is revealed on a Cleanse the
Hive, it is still a bluff. But what about Double Jeopardy as the first challenge
revealed? It is a challenge and does not explicitly call it a bluff. Any
thoughts?

Have I caused enough confusion yet?

Tony
--
Porthos@****.com -- GridSec: SRCard
Porthos' World of Shadowrun: http://members.home.net/porthos/sr/sr.html
Tony's SRTCG Site: http://members.home.net/porthos/srtcg/srtcg.html
Home of the SRTCG Q&A: SRCard's Official Unofficial SRTCG FAQ

Disclaimer

These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.