Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Blade Hunter <bladehnt@*********.NET>
Subject: Re: Special Abilities
Date: Mon, 6 Apr 1998 11:05:00 -0400
On Mon, 6 Apr 1998, [iso-8859-1] "Jens P. Dräger" wrote:
> For those rule freaks out there!

Hi! :P

> This is a question arising from a shadowrun game on the weekend:
> Many runners have got special abilities (Like Cherry Bomb: Pay 5 nuyen to
> trash target location, Jade: Pay 1 nuyen to prevent target runner from
> unturning, Tin Man: Pay 1 nuyen to receive +1/+1 and so on).
> Can I use these abilities WHENEVER I feel the urge? So for example if my
> opponent plays a Z-Zone and I have Cherry Bomb in my safe house. May I tu=
> her at once and pay the 5 nuyen OR do I have to wait until it's my turn
> again to use that trait? Same with Lord Torgo - allowed to trash as soon =
> elves hit the table or until it's my turn again???

Short answer: yes.

Unless otherwise noted, runners can use special abilities as stingers (usab=
whenever you like).

However, when two people are trying to do something at the same time, the
player who's turn it is resolves the effect first, then rolling d6 to resol=
each other player's effect. It might be tempting to quickly turn Cherry Bo=
the instant you see a particular location enter play and yell out, "Ha!
It's gone!", but it's common courtesy to take your time in such matters (ju=
a short delay) in order to prevent the game from becoming a slap-fest of ca=
turning and stingers flying about the table.

in creating a spice girls deck, darnit, sporty doesn't have white hair...


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.