Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Norman McLeod <mcleodn@***********.NET>
Subject: Re: Spell Lock and used spells
Date: Mon, 6 Apr 1998 16:31:55 -0400
>Q. Let's say I have Wildfire out and he's geared up with three spells:
>Sleep, Jinx and Fireball. I've put a Spell Lock on Sleep. During the
>course of a run on Haunted Highrise I cast Sleep twice thanks to the
>spell lock and use Jinx on a maglock. Now facing the Objective, am I
>correct in assuming I could not use the Fireball as, even though I
>only turned two of my spells, I actually have "used" my allotted three
>spells for this turn?

I believe one of the points of Spell lock was to allow runners with
Sorcery-1 to use more spells. In other words, I think that Spell Lock would
make the first use not technically a use

>Consider this, here's a what was said with a similar issue regarding
>the Ally Spirit:
>Q1: Since it doesn't have to be turned to use it, does the Ally spirit
>count towards a Shaman's limit of spirits?
>A1: They still count because even though they don't turn, they ARE

Ah, but Spirits are different than spells in many ways, for example they
don't turn to use in the frst place, and they take effect for an entire
run/turn/whenever the shaman is in combat.


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.