Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Norman McLeod <mcleodn@***********.NET>
Subject: Re: Magical awakening
Date: Fri, 10 Apr 1998 00:56:03 -0400
>> I seem to recall in one of the novels a runner with cyberware becoming
>> awakened. I can't remember for sure, but it seems to me the
>cyberware may
>> have been burned out of the character at the end of the book. With
>this in
>> mind, how about allowing the card to be played on any runner with the
>> penalty that his cyberware is trashed?
>I agree with the idea that playing such a card on a Runner with gear
>(cyberware) would trash the cyber. This holds with the RBT stating
>that Mages and Shamans cannot use cyberware and avoids muddiness or
>rules debates over the fact that my Drake with Muscle Rep and Dermal
>can now sling a mighty Fireball as well.

No offence, but so what if your Drake can also hurl a fireball, all but two
of the Mages that I can think (those being The Preacher and Jackyl) of cost
less even than the cheaper version of the card (5 Nuyen), so why would I
want to pay five to give my Lord Torgo Sorcery when I can pay four and get a
Tempest on the table?


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.