Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: JD <germany@*****************.COM>
Subject: Re: SoC
Date: Fri, 10 Apr 1998 14:31:33 -0600
-

>Ok, here's some posers I came up with on State of Confusion (SoC).
>
>First the card text:
>
>
>State of Confusion / Stinger
>Cost: 2¥
>You may choose a new, legal target for a Special card just played.
>
>I got to thinking of the fun ways this could affect Nerps!
>
>Nerps!
>Cost: 3¥
>Unique. Choose a target Gear card (except Spirits and Drones) and
>treat Nerps! as an exact duplicate of that card.
>
<snip>
>Now here's the twist. Let's say Tony is again Nerpsing the H-man's
>Muscle Rep for his Skwaaaaaark. I toss out SoC and instead target it
>to duplicate my Ice Queen's Redirect Datatrail. Tony doesn't have any
>Deckers out. Can he tuck the Nerps'd RD back in his hand for when he
>can get Caeser out? Does it stay a copy of RD in that case?
>
If Nerps can be considered an R&D dept. who has instructions to reverse
engineer something (exact duplicate), then it is an example of screwed up
paperwork. The engineers come out of the lab with a copy of the RD program
only to find out that someone sent the paperwork for the Muscle Rep to the
wrong place.

Another analogy: Spellcasting. The mage is copying an item and when he
gets to the item in the spell, he says the wrong words ... oops. It is too
late now. That is what being Confused is all about.

As for being able to keep the card for future use? I think that it must be
discarded. The card has already been played. If no one can use the card,
it is forfeited.

>Same type of scenerio except I know Tony doesn't have any Mages in the
>deck so I target Nerps on my Tempest's Combat Fetishes. Does Tony just
>discard the Nerps in this case, as he has no practical way to use the
>CF copy?
>
As above.

>Ok, a different twist on SoC. Sudden Goblinization (SG).
>
>Sudden Goblinization / Stinger
>Cost: 2¥
>Target Human Runner is transformed into an Ork or troll (owner of
>Sudden Goblinization chooses). Modify the target Runner's Threat
>Rating as follows: Ork: +1/+1, Troll: +2/+2 (A+1) and target Runner
>loses all skills.
>
>Tony is wanting to beef up Turbo a bit, and tosses out SG while saying
>that Turbo is monkeying-out and becoming an ork. I think it'd be more
>interesting a different way. If I use SoC on his SG, can I target
>H-man instead and make him a troll (thus taking his skills)? Is the
>choice of race part of the targetting of the card, or since Tony had
>already said it was to make Turbo an ork as the card is coming out, is
>the race already locked in? (Potential speed/slap-fest issue.)
>
Using the spellcasting analogy, the race would have already been chosen by
the first player, it is only the target that changes.

Jon Doud
germany@*****************.com

Disclaimer

These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.