Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Donald Arganbright <jayden63@*******.COM>
Subject: Re: Conjuring Skills
Date: Sat, 11 Apr 1998 11:12:55 PDT
Dynamite wrote :

>Here's my most recent and troubling questions:
> The rules state that spirits are to be handled exactly as drones
>34 rulebook), where a shaman may hold any number of spirits but may use
>only as many spirits equal to his/her conjuring skill at any one time.


> He plays Wishbone, who has a conjuring skill of 2. In the
>following turns he plays two ally spirits, claiming the advantages of
>both spirits(cumulative of +2/+4), and plays two city spirits, and >two
nature spirits. Wishbone is now holding 6 spirit cards, two of >which
are ally spirits.

This is perfectly legal. My take on the ally spirit is that it is such
a powerful spirit (spirits got egos too ya know) that it will only come
to the aid of a more powerfull conjurer. But it still counts as one
spirit. Wishbone could, if he wanted, hold all four ally spirits that
could be in the deck at the same time.

>I have no problem understanding that he can >hold the other 4 >spirits,
but it seems to me that the ally spirit is >continually in >play as soon
as it is played because of the benefits >that it offers. > If this is
the case then he is currently using both >points of his >skill, thus
making it impossible for him to have >another ally spirit >with him.

Wrong. Each spirit only takes up one of the two points of conjure. So
he could have two and the protection would be cumulitive, if he used
both at the same time.


> Another question, different scenario.
> Wishbone goes on a run with four spirits in his possession, 2 >city
and 2 nature, not yet turned. His conjuring skill is two so he >can use
two spirits at once (or only 1 ally spirit???). He gets >jumped
bypumped Yak Attack 11/1 and to avoid taking damage himself he >must
trash one spirit and stack 5 dmg on the other.
>The next challenge is revealed
>and he wants to use his wounded spirit and another spirit. Is this


>By the book it seems it would, but thinking about it makes me
>wonder if it isn't an overlooked rule. Wishbone has already used one
>point of conjure to control a spirit that has already been trashed.
>Is this magic skill point expended like it is with Mages, which makes
>sense to me (especially in light of the rules for the RPG), or is the
>skill like piloting where he can call the use of yet a third spirit,
>although only two are currently in play?

Nope, its kinda like the gun thing. a runner can have as many guns and
ammo as they want but they can only take one of each. Unless a card
says that they can take more. IE. extended clip or the runner that can
use two guns (cant remember his name.) This decision must be made at
the beginning of the shadowrun and likewise as with spirits. The ones
that are going to help with must be chosen at the begining of the run.
So if you bring along a city spirit and a nature spirit and run into
challenges that are indoors or outdoor only. You could only use one
spirit to help with the challenge. Not trade off your city and nature
spirits as you choose.

Drones I can understand because of their nature, but magic would
>seem to me to drain on the user, effectively using up a point of
>just like sorcery.

Drones are the same as spirits. Must be chosen at the beginning of the
run which ones are going to fight and wich are going to stay home.

>Ideas are readily (hungrily!) welcomed.
> Dynamite.

*** In ruling, the Sage attends to the heart, not the eye ***
*** - Tao ***

Donald Arganbright
Jayden Stormwalker

Get Your Private, Free Email at


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.