Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Norman McLeod <mcleodn@***********.NET>
Subject: Re: Conjuring Skills
Date: Sun, 12 Apr 1998 00:12:31 -0400
Just one thing about Ally Spirits that I'm not sure everyone understands,
they can be turned on and off just like any other spirit as far as I can
tell. There is nothing to indicate that you don't chose an Ally Spirit just
as you would choose any other spirit, at the beginning of your shadowrun
phase. Once you chose him, you would then be able to use the +1/+2 and the
trash ability, but if you chose to use other spirit(s) instead, you

>>By the book it seems it would, but thinking about it makes me
>>wonder if it isn't an overlooked rule. Wishbone has already used one
>>point of conjure to control a spirit that has already been trashed.
>>Is this magic skill point expended like it is with Mages, which makes
>>sense to me (especially in light of the rules for the RPG), or is the
>>skill like piloting where he can call the use of yet a third spirit,
>>although only two are currently in play?
>Nope, its kinda like the gun thing. a runner can have as many guns and
>ammo as they want but they can only take one of each. Unless a card
>says that they can take more. IE. extended clip or the runner that can
>use two guns (cant remember his name.) This decision must be made at
>the beginning of the shadowrun and likewise as with spirits. The ones
>that are going to help with must be chosen at the begining of the run.
>So if you bring along a city spirit and a nature spirit and run into
>challenges that are indoors or outdoor only. You could only use one
>spirit to help with the challenge. Not trade off your city and nature
>spirits as you choose.

That's not the way I understood it, as a matter of fact, I think that
spirits and drones are quite different than guns. As far as I understood it,
you could take as many guns as you wanted on a run with your runner, it's
just that you could only USE one at a time (unless you're Flatline of
Ambidextrous), where as with spirits you can only TAKE a number equal to
your conjuring.


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.