|From:||Norman McLeod <mcleodn@***********.NET>|
|Subject:||Re: Lord Torgo again....He's fun to talk about :)|
|Date:||Wed, 15 Apr 1998 21:10:43 -0400|
>> >Initiation, he would then become a Ganger, Does this now make him only a
>> >Ganger or a Ganger & Ganger Leader?
>> He is already both Ganger and Ganger Leader. Sating Ganger Leader is like
>> saying Street Mage, it is a sub-catagory of Gangers.
>> >Would you be able to put a LoTP on him
>> No, never never never!
>But LotP says, play on target ganger does it not? I know it's been
>(un)officially(?) ruled by the big guys at FASA that LotP cannot be played
>on Torgo, but IMHO, it was a pretty bad call. Only because it seems as
>though Torgo is a leagal target (he's a ganger also right?) and there
>would still only be one Ganger Leader in play. It seems to me that the
>wise ones want to prevent the super powerful combos from being leagal (see
>cement shoes), which is fine, but IMO, erratta should be made to reword
>the card instead of simply dissallowing a combo just because..
I think that you are wrong here. The card LotP moves someone from a career
only (Ganger) to a subcatagory of that carrier. Much like the inabilty to
play a totem on Scatter, the restriction on Torgo just means that you can't
make him something that he already is. Not the word "becomes" on LotP. You
can't become something you already are. I don't think that this was a
decision just to get rid of a powerfull combo, I think this makes a great
deal of sense.
Think of it this way, becoming a Ganger Leader is not a cumulative effect.
Much like playing One of the Family would not make someone a Mafia runner
twice over, it would not make any sense if LotP had any effect on Torgo. He
already is the LotP. Look on LotP as a transformation. An initiation, as it