Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Tony Glinka <porthos@****.COM>
Subject: Re: More guard trait stuff
Date: Thu, 16 Apr 1998 14:07:41 -0700
Jon Palmer wrote:

> The Guard trait has always kind of confused me... i guess the difference
> between how it (probably) works in the game and how logically it would
> work. Here's some situations:

Here are some answers from the Miscellaneous section of the SRTCG Q&A.

> 1. Scorpio and Static are in the safehouse. Static gets Black Hammered by
> my opponent's Fastjack and loses. Can Scorpio take the damage? (I jump in
> front of you in the Matrix!)

Q3: Is it safe to assume the Guard ability can not be used to take damage for a
Decker that has originated in the Matrix?A3: Yes.

> 2. Scorpio and Static, again in the safehouse. My opponent (the loser!)
> plays Riots. Can Scorpio take his two and Static's two?

> 3. Same two, safehouse once again. My opponent (same punk) uses Tempest.
> Can Scorpio take his 1AP and Static's 1AP?

Q4: Can a character with Guard tap to protect against undirected damage (riots,
Highway Showdown, etc...), as well as directed damage (Drive-By, damaged from
Fusion Gate, normal Challenge damage, etc...)?A4: Yes.

I hope this helps. And remember for these and all of your other questions
check out the SRTCG Q&A: SRCard's Official Unofficial SRTCG FAQ. It's located

Porthos@****.com -- GridSec: SRCard
Porthos' World of Shadowrun:
Tony's SRTCG Site:
Home of the SRTCG Q&A: SRCard's Official Unofficial SRTCG FAQ


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.