Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Jon Palmer <jmp225@***.EDU>
Subject: Re: Another trick question.
Date: Thu, 16 Apr 1998 19:15:31 -0400
>Both Runners and Challenges may have Armor, indicated in parentheses as
>A and a number (for example, A2). Some Gear cards can be played on a
>Runner to modify his Armor Rating, or to provide unarmored Runners with
>Armor. Armor provided by Gear cards is indicated two ways. The first is
>as A + a number, for example, A + 1. In this case, a Runner with Armor
>increases the rating of that Armor by 1, and a Runner without Armor
>receives an Armor Rating of 1. Armor provided by Gear cards may also be
>indicated as A and a number (for example, A1). In this case, the Armor
>provided by the Gear is not cumulative with any other Armor. If a
>Runner has Armor of A1 and is holding a Vehicle card that provides
>Armor of A2, the Runner is protected by an Armor Rating of 2.
>Now all this says is that the armor of the vehicle prevails over the one of the
>runner, not that you get to choose. Maybe there is a ruling that I don't know
>of, but until there I'll stick to my first opinion, Torgo's armor is bye bye...

I think you missed the point here. It's not that the vehicle's armor
override's Torgo's; rather, the higher armor always wins out. I mean, that
makes sense, doesn't it?

Jon Palmer


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.