Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: hansen <hansen@********.COM.SG>
Subject: Re: Timing.
Date: Tue, 21 Apr 1998 17:17:19 +0800
>>> <snip Card Text>
>>> Luck of the Irish
>>> Type: Special (Stinger)
>>> Rarity: Common
>>> Description: 0¥. Roll a D6, On a 4+ trash either a special card just
>>> or
>>> one already in play.Notes: "I've got more luck in my little finger than
>>> you've got in your whole
>>> shilelagh, laddie!"Illustrator: Janet Aulisio
>>> <snip!>
>>> Card text says that trash a special card already in play or one just
>>> played. I key off the phrase "just played." To me, that means
>>> just laid down or one that has been rolled for. That seems to me to
>>> stretch the amount of time you have to counter an opponents card.
>>IMO, the card is gone as soon as the roll has taken place, and therefore
>>cant be targetted by another LotI anymore. Playing a card and rolling
>>for it is not the same action. If you wait until the die has been
>>rolled, your chance is over. ---Felix
>Fair enough, except that once a card is rolled for, doesn't that count as
>"Already in Play"?

This is not M:tG... Nowhere does in the rules state that there is any sort
of timing frame.
IMHO played = When a card is declared. Everything on the card resolves at
once with no time frame for opponent to respond do anything. No turning for
special effect, no discarding for special effect or whatever.
Therefore when you deploy LotI you'll have to roll for it before he can
This is the only counter effect card in the game. It's bound to stir up a
discussion. Next person's opinion??


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.