|Date:||Tue, 21 Apr 1998 08:53:23 -0400|
> >>> Luck of the Irish
> >>> Type: Special (Stinger)
> >>> Rarity: Common
> >>> Description: 0¥. Roll a D6, On a 4+ trash either a special card just
> >>> or
> >>> one already in play.Notes: "I've got more luck in my little finger
> >>> you've got in your whole
> >>> shilelagh, laddie!"Illustrator: Janet Aulisio
> >>> <snip!>
> >>> Card text says that trash a special card already in play or one just
> >>> played. I key off the phrase "just played." To me, that
> >>> just laid down or one that has been rolled for. That seems to me to
> >>> stretch the amount of time you have to counter an opponents card.
> >>IMO, the card is gone as soon as the roll has taken place, and
> >>can´t be targetted by another LotI anymore. Playing a card and rolling
> >>for it is not the same action. If you wait until the die has been
> >>rolled, your chance is over. ---Felix
> >Fair enough, except that once a card is rolled for, doesn't that count
> >"Already in Play"?
> This is not M:tG... Nowhere does in the rules state that there is any
> of timing frame.
> IMHO played = When a card is declared. Everything on the card resolves at
> once with no time frame for opponent to respond do anything. No turning
> special effect, no discarding for special effect or whatever.
> Therefore when you deploy LotI you'll have to roll for it before he can
> This is the only counter effect card in the game. It's bound to stir up a
> discussion. Next person's opinion??
I think that when a card is played all effects on the card are simutaneous.
So if someone plays LOTI then they have to roll as part of playing the
As for logic if someone tries to get a stroke of good luck to go their way
why should I try to stop it if he doesn't get that stroke of luck...in
other words if his roll fails...In game terms my guys wouldn't know he was
trying to get some good luck (since he never got it) and wouldn't try to
summon some luck of their own to counter the good fortune that had fallen
on my opponent.