Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: hansen <hansen@********.COM.SG>
Subject: Re: Lord Torgo again....He's fun to talk about :)
Date: Wed, 22 Apr 1998 02:33:05 +0800
>> OK.. This is my scan... This is getting too long....
>> <snip old Torgo/LotP debate>
>> Again in my opinon...
>> When you play this on Torgo (Ganger and Ganger Leader) it is possible...
>> a point... Follow instruction by instuction on the card...
>> 1) Play on target Ganger runner... (No Problem. Torgo's now a ganger.)
>> 2) Target runner is now a ganger leader.... (Ok Torgo's now a Ganger
>> AND
>> Ganger
>> Ganger Leader. )
>> 3) A player may not have more than 1 Ganger Leader in play....
>> (Note although the 1st Ganger Leader keyword and the 2nd Ganger
>> Keyword are redundant, they are still two seperate entities.
>> you now
>> have 2 Ganger Leader Keywords. The text searches for "Ganger
>> the
>> keyword. Something to borrow the M:tG term 'fizzles'... This is the
>> part I'm not
>> sure of... I don't know which is trashed, Torgo or the LotP.
>> I'd say the one
>> that came into play later. i.e LotP.)
>> 4) ...blah...blah...blah... x = number of ganger runner runners.... (Note
>> this text
>> searches for Ganger Runner. In the above example the ganger runner
had 2
>> ganger
>> keywords BUT he is still only one runner.)
>That's a very interesting argument and a fresh outlook at the ruling, but
>I'm not getting it. :P I understand the concept, I just don't agree with
>it. I'm not trying to be a jerk here (I honestly don't know, I was an Art
>major in College), where did you find that concept? the way that you talk
>about it, it sounds like it's a math theory or something. :)

Ge I guess I was listening in Math class.

>Sorry, but ignorance _can_be_ bliss. :)

Yes, but usually spells trouble at the very least....

>Theory aside, how can something be a ganger twice? If I go back to school
>and finish my drawing degree, I'm not an Artist-2. I'm still an Artist, I
>just now can be considered a Drawer and a 3-D Artist, right?

Ok... Let's simplify this a little....
You have an Art degree.
You go back to school and apply for the course again....
You pass and you get another degree.
You now have 2 Art degrees but the second one (actually in the case of a
degree it's the one with lower grades) is redundant.
You were an artist before and you still are an artist...

I knew a guy who was (stress was) a member of two gangs (don't see him
nowadays wonder what happened...). So technically it's possible, but not a
good idea, to be a ganger twice. Think in terms of agent, double agent,
triple agent etc....

Also, it is possible to be a gang leader but not a gangster (hey money
talks), as well as a gang leader as well as a gang member (think splinter
assosication like main company , subsidary company).

I've spent too much of my youth in the wrong part of town.....



These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.