Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Bradley Aaron Rebh <brebh@*****.BGSU.EDU>
Subject: Re: Lord Torgo again....He's fun to talk about :)
Date: Tue, 21 Apr 1998 19:07:11 -0400
On Tue, 21 Apr 1998, Norman McLeod wrote:

> Okay, I'm sorry, but this has gone on long enough. The same arguments are
> being heard, in different forms. Bsically it coms down to this. If you

Really, I thought we had some new and very interesting arguments come up.

Why not just delete the messages with the subject Lord Torgo <whatever> in
the subject line? Then you don't have to be a part of the debate, unless
you want to be.

> believe that Torgo should not be a legal target for LotP, play it that way
> if not, don't. I thought the Senator-President comparison was just a little
> out there. We are talking about a card game. K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Stupid!

I thought the argument that _prompted_ the President/Ganger example was a
little out there, so we're even.

And keeping it simple is what I'm all about, remember, I'm trying to get
the uniform ruling here, my running mates are the ones trying to bulk up
the FAQ. :)

BTW, just curious, but was that directed at me?

> There is no Ganger President, etc. I don't mean to start another argument
> with this, god forbid, but to point out that this is a game, and we should
> keep our arguments entirely technical. Yes it is all well and good to say
> "Well in the real world..." but SRTCG is at best a cheap imitation. I don't
> see how you're going to fit my Lord Torgo into Hollywood's Heavy Armor in
> the real world, but in the CCG I have no problem with it.

If we're arguing entirely technical, why can't Torgo use LotP, but a
Ganger can go on the Initiation Objective? They're very similar rulings.
The best response I've gotten to this, is that the Objective makes gangers
as a by product, where LotP makes a ganger leader, then attaches the
experience token. Though, I see the point, I disagree with the
interpretation (of course), I see both of them as giving the abilities
equally, regardless of where the parenthesis are. If you have to pay
attention to where punctuation is on a card, then there's something wrong.
Additionally, I don't see the special text on an Objective as being a
by product of the reputation, it's equally important IMO.

And to think, I would have dropped the whole thing if it weren't for the
little rant by whoever.

Bradley Aaron Rebh


920 E.Wooster #4
Bowling Green, OH 43402


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.