Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: "(No Name Available)" <mothman@**********.COM>
Subject: Re: Lord Torgo again....He's fun to talk about :)
Date: Tue, 21 Apr 1998 22:35:37 -0600
>>Then what about The Objective, initiation? If a Ganger Leader can't
become a Ganger Leader, then a Ganger can't become a Ganger and a ganger
shouldn't be eligible to partake in the Initiation objective.<<

They're completely different situations. Any Runner can make a shadowrun
on The Initiation. The bit about being a Ganger in addition to their
original designations is a *bonus* rather than a requirement.

>>The Merriam-Webster Dictionary that I have access to also says, "To come to
be", which could be interpreted as becoming Leader of the Pack. I know it says,
become a Ganger Leader, not Leader of the Pack, but I think it's irrelevant what the card
becomes as long as Torgo is a valid target for the card.<<

Irrelevant? Come on, Brad. Don't you think that the DLOH's choice of the
words Ganger Leader for both Torgo and Leader of the Pack indicates that
the card is absolutely NOT intended for use with Torgo? It seems clear.

>>No, but a Senator can become a President, both are Leaders, the Presidency is just
a higher version of Leadership. Same goes with the fireman example, though I don't know
their ranking system. As far as the caterpillar goes, your talking physical metamorphical
changes, not changes in profession or personal Leadership.<<

Okay, at this point you are no longer even debating SRTCG rules. I can
think of a zillion fictional justifications for Torgo to use LotP, but
the game rules don't permit it. A Senator *can* become President, but
the President doesn't. He might be voted to a second term, but then he
*remains* a President, he doesn't become one.

>>You may have won as far as what FASA thinks about it (which to a lot of people is
all that's important), but, IMHO, it's still a crappy ruling that I'd like to see thought
out some more.<<

To put it another way (I suspect), you think that the card should work
differently than how it is intended. No offense, but it seems to me
that's what you're saying. I think that FASA's ruling is absolutely
consistent with the card text…if not logical in fictional terms. The
latter seems to be the source of your frustration.

The kinder, gentler, but still stubborn as a mule…


"It's more fun to compute"


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.