Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: Matb <mbreton@**.NETCOM.COM>
Subject: Re: Lord Torgo again....He's fun to talk about :)
Date: Wed, 22 Apr 1998 04:59:08 -0700
Bradley Aaron Rebh wrote:

> > > You may have won as far as what FASA thinks about it (which to a lot of
> > > people is all that's important), but, IMHO, it's still a crappy ruling
> > > that I'd like to see thought out some more.

> > This shouldn't be an argument, and definitely should *not* be about
> > winning. If you have a suggestion for a better implementation, or a
> > better ruling, I'd love to hear it; otherwise, leave the horse alone.

> I thought that's what I was doing, offering a better ruling or at least
> trying to make sense out of the current one.

Not to be personal, but I haven't heard anything from you that supports
FASA's ruling -- more along the lines of, "Why didn't they say what they

Again, if you can come up with a better rationale, fine.

> > (Although the Senator-President example was nice, I still find it
> > flawed: Presidents are no longer senators. Similarly, if you have a BA

> No, senators aren't presidents, but they're still leaders. Just an
> attempt to refute the argument by hansen.

Oh, so it really doesn't pertain to the card at all. LotP uses the same
keyword as LT does; not two different keywords, each belonging to a
third category.

> > in Fine Arts, and go back to school for a BA in Fine Arts, you don't
> > have a "super BA" -- you have the same degree you came in with. If
> > card specified a different, higher level, it would have used a different
> > keyword.)

> I wasn't arguing for a "super" version of the ganger leader, I was simply
> saying that you still remain the same status (In this case, Ganger
> Leader), you just "graduate" with more knowledge (In this case, Leader of
> the Pack status). Torgo will remain the same level, he just has more
> experience, hence the experience token.

'Leader of the Pack' isn't the status that you graduate with: Ganger
Leader is. The experience token isn't secondary to the effect (the use
of parentheses in the card text suggests the opposite, actually), which
itself suggests that Torgo already has his experience.

> > ((Incidentally, you *can* go back to school for the same degree,
> > although it's rarely done, for obvious reasons.))

> I don't know if you meant to, but I think you strengthened my point,
> thanks Matt.

Your welcome, but I don't see how you might think so. You go back to
school for a (renewed) BA, and you end up with the same degree you had
before. Old dog; no new tricks.

To repeat an earlier statement -- this isn't about "my" point, "your"
point, "that guy there"'s point.

And, again, I challenge you to come up with a more convincing argument
why LotP can't be played on Torgo. Put some energy to work for FASA.

- Matt

Ask me tonight why love is strange
For I am drunk and full of reasons....

GridSec: SRCard
Teen Poets FAQ:
SRTCG Website:


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.