Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: NosaJKreaF <NosaJKreaF@***.COM>
Subject: Re: Some questions
Date: Sun, 26 Apr 1998 07:53:31 EDT
>1. Does Minefields end a shadowrun? It says trash it if you roll higher than
>number of runners present, otherwise it does X damage... it doesn't say trash
>after it does damage. So, I figure if you hit it and everyone dies, it stays
>play, right? What if one guy survives? Can he continue the shadowrun?

I play that if it trashes the whole running team then it is trashed, if a
runner survives then the run can continue

>2. The rulebook says if you defeat a challenge "using only silenced
>the alarm doesn't stay triggered. Should this be interpreted as "using no
>weapons that aren't silenced" or "using nothing but silenced weapons"?

If I remember correctly the official FAQ says that it must be defeated using
only silenced weapons,
e.g. you have a team where two runners have pistols with silencers, one with
the ranger X, and one with no weapons. If you add the threat rating of the
unarmed guy his natural weapons are not silenced, therefore the alarm woould
be set.

>3. Probably not important for game purposes, but why is the Chomps 2000 Guard
>Dog an Awakened challenge? It looks like a robot to me.

IMHO, although he looks like a robot, he is more a cyborg than anything, so
that would have to put him in something like the Awakened or Personal
challenge category, and I think that the awakened is closer as most of the
personal challenges are cards that have methuman members e.g. Knight errant

Hope this helps,



These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.