Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: David Reis <david.reis@*****.COM>
Subject: Re: runner on runner combat (was Re: Amerindian Expansion)
Date: Wed, 8 Jul 1998 14:32:35 -0700
At 12:41 AM 7/8/98 -0400, you wrote:
>>>I think the spirit´s user always has the choice wether to use it or
>>>not, even when he´s directly attacked. ---Felix
>>
>>The rule book states that drones and spirits are considered runners
>>for combat situations. And in a runner vs. multiple runners combat the
>>single runner gets to deside where his damage goes. So I would
>>think that if cannonball goes up against roadrash with two dobermans
>>cannonball can assign his 5 damage to roadrashes 5 body and kill him and
>>his two drones... of course cannonball takes 16 damage from the drones
>>and dies bigtime as well.
>>
>>This is how I interpet the rules anyway
>
>
>Nope, the shaman/rigger can decide to use the drone(s)/spirit(s) instead of
>his own threat rating in combat. The player can choose whether the runner=
or
>the drones will fight. That is one of the things that makes them usefull.
>
>
Direct from the online rulebook at
http://www.fasa.com/Shadowrun/SRTCG/SRTCGRules/SRTCGRulesTOC.html:
"If a single Runner is fighting against several opponents, the single
Runner's owner chooses where to allocate the damage."
Since spirits/drones are treated as runners in combat, if Cannonball goes
up against Roadrash, Cannonball can apply his damage to directly to
Roadrash without going through the two drones first.

David

Disclaimer

These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.