Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

From: "Paul D. Ossman" <guggenheimer@**********.COM>
Subject: Re: Problems with wired reflexes
Date: Wed, 22 Jul 1998 17:12:36 -0700
Donald Arganbright wrote:
>>Donald Arganbright wrote:
>>>
>>> Hoi,
>>>
>>> The following situations came up in a game. I know in the "real
>>> world" some couldn't happen... but following CCG rules, some of the
>>> combinations are possible. Just wondering what you think.
>>>
>>> I have Uncle Joe with both wired reflexes and a fireball. Fire >>
>ball states that the card replaces your attack rating. Wired
>>>reflexes says that on a 4+ you inflict damage a second time. So can
>>>I use the fireball and do say 8 damage. Roll my D6 for the wired
>>>reflexes and do the 8 damage again. I say you can because of the
>>>following. FireBall replaces your attack value for the combat.
>>>Wired reflexes says you inflict damage twice. It never specifies
>>>where that damage comes from. And the fireball (even though it is >>a
>one time use spell) is your attack value for THAT combat. Just
>>>wondering.
>>
>>The Wired Reflexes enable a Runner to be so fast that he can act
>>doubly compared to normal Runners. He can´t cast the same spell >twice,
>though. He can use his own threat rating for the second >attack.
>
>I know that a spell is only usable once. But the wording on the spell
>is that it replaces the user attack value for the combat. So for combat
>Joe would have an 8. The question is when does the second application
>of damage happen from wired reflexes?... see my point on lower question
>(I don't want to write it out twice.)
>
>
>>>
>>> Situation II.
>>>
>>> Uncle joe again with wired reflexes and an ares preditor. Is
>>> Shadowrunning. A challenge comes up with an armor rating. Lets
>>>say a 6/7 (A2) Challenge comes up. Uncle Joe does 5 points of
>>>damage with but that is reduced to 3 because of the challenges
>>>armor. Now I roll for the wired reflexes and it works. He then
>>>inflicts damage a second time. My question is does the challenge get
>>>the benifit of armor for the second time? Armor takes its rating
>>>away from the attack value of each source attacking it. Now Uncle
>>>Joe is just one source. I would say all 5 points of damage go
>>>through on the second application of damage
>>>killing the challenge, not just another 3. This one is a little
>>>hazy.
>>> Just wondering what your opinions are.
>
>>Can´t happen, because Uncle Joe would be killed after the first
>>attack. If he had more body or armor or damage would have been
>>prevented by other means, Armor would work a second time.
>
>> Felix
>
>My argument is this. All combat happens instantaniously (as per rule
>book). There is no first attacks then second attacks. A person with
>wired reflexes would hit twice in the same time it takes all other
>runners and challenges to strike once. Once battle is over, there are
>no more attacks, it is at this point that damage is applied to runners.
>This being true his second application of damage would come before any
>damage was delt to him or his attack rating goes back to a 2. Also this
>argument is also what I am using to say that the challenge or runner
>doesn't get the benifits of armor twice. Its only one source attacking
>at the same time as the defender just doing double damage.

Although the wired reflex card does not specify when the roll is to be
made, Ravage's card does, "Roll a D6 after each combat she survives; on a
4+, Ravage inflicts damage a second time." I have not gone to the FAQ,
yet, eventhough wired reflexes may allow you to attack twice, I question
whether it would allow you to be so fast as to not only attack twice, but
to attack twice before your opponent even gets one shot off. The wired
Reflex card does not specify, but I would hold it to the same restriction
as ravage.
Paul O.

Disclaimer

These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.