Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

Message no. 1
Subject: Copyright, SR II books, and The deck.
Date: Mon, 5 Apr 93 21:37:22 CET

First the easy part - each person owns their characters.
The FAQ says this basically - you don't use someone elses character without

The hard part - what about adventures easy to hard
the flailed rescue of Highlander - IMHO would be owned by myself
as the writer, and those people whose characters I used
The successful rescue - same Idea- cept I have no part

The problem - the stuff in between with everyone looking
and trying to help out.

Both together - anyone who was really involved - including the
guy who compiled the ships in the harbor - gets a piece of the action.
They might not write the story but they own the characters.

The hard one - MONICA and Core Wars.

Robert owns Monica, Rufus, Howe, Yoshida, and SPlut (RIP)
along with others.

Robert I believe would also own the freeing of Rufus and
betrayal of Monica ( have to check the logs on this).

Robert would not own the multitude of parts in MagnaTech involving
DE and everybody under the sun. - their characters appeared it was
partly theirs

So what we have is a basicly unanswerable question about owner
ship of complex adventures. my opinion - don't both - its just
to hot a topic chummer.

SR II book hardcover.

I have heard that you can get a hardcover still (possibly)
if you are a member of KA-GE (thanks Rin).
I also know of one left at Patty's paperbacks in Indiana Pa.

I will look into C.O.D for sending it. Robert has first dibs
(please speak up if you are still interested)
it will be full price plus cost of shipping (i'm a very poor college

The deck

Well I'm not even going to touch this topic much for fears
of flames.

What this brought to my attention is a not so small descrepency
in response for decks

Response is MPCP/4 (round down) BUT......

the Decker (pg 51) and the elven decker (pg 54)

both have Fuchi Cyber - 4 (with response increase 2)

now a Fuchi 4 has a MPCP of 6
now since what ever grade 6/4 = 1.5 rounded down to 1
so it should be a one by MPCP/4

if you do MPCP / 3 rounded down
one would get 6/3 = 2 no rounding

Now the errata never fixed either of these things to my knowledge
(other wise I would have writen them in)

So there is a mistake one way or the other.

Now as to the response 4 on the deck with a 15 mpcp

well it would work with the MPCP/3 (it could be a 5)
And the GM let you have a 4 response

but not the MPCP/4 (still be 3 (wow do I love math spu's))

probably just wrote what everyone else
has been thinking but figured everyone
already knew so they didn't bother to
write it.

Daniel Waisley Lglumka@*** --------(-- IUP FENCING
SCA - Shire of Robledol, Households - Cryptic Demesne (fencing) + Brotherhood
of Agincourt (archery),
sorry for any bad grammer or spelling, etc. My mind works at 637
thoughts per minute, and my hands at 1.2 letters per second

Further Reading

If you enjoyed reading about Copyright, SR II books, and The deck., you may also be interested in:


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.