Back to the main page

Mailing List Logs for ShadowRN

Message no. 1
From: Marc A Renouf <jormung@*****.UMICH.EDU>
Subject: Re: Drain/Damage Resistance
Date: Fri, 8 Sep 1995 14:40:06 -0400
On Fri, 8 Sep 1995, Robert Watkins wrote:

> Marc A Renouf wrote:
> >
> > Untrue. Drain rolls, like all other kinds of damage resistance
> > rolls, are unmodified by wound category modifiers. The spell will be
> > more difficult to cast, but resisting its drainm will be the same. Just
> > thought I'd throw that out there for ya. :)

> Marc, I hate to do this, but I'm going to have to ask for a page reference
> on that one.

[Combat and Damage Resistance cites deleted]

> So, here we have a ruling that doesn't mention wether or not Damage
> modifiers come into play... But, as they generally do, I'd have to say they
> are taken into consideration.
> I still want to see the reference for the general case of Damage
> Resistance, though...

Okay, here we go. Shadowrun II (softcover), page 112, second
column, second paragraph:

"The INJURY MODIFIER is a universal target number modifier that
applies to nearly all Success Tests the injured character may attempt,
except those involving attempts to resist damage or avoid damage."

It's a little obscure (just one small paragraph), and I couldn't find
other references (I think there's one more in there somewhere) but it
was the same way in SRI, so it was no surprise to us when we started
playing SRII that the modifiers didn't count against damage resistance


Further Reading

If you enjoyed reading about Drain/Damage Resistance, you may also be interested in:


These messages were posted a long time ago on a mailing list far, far away. The copyright to their contents probably lies with the original authors of the individual messages, but since they were published in an electronic forum that anyone could subscribe to, and the logs were available to subscribers and most likely non-subscribers as well, it's felt that re-publishing them here is a kind of public service.