|From:||Marc A Renouf <jormung@*****.UMICH.EDU>|
|Subject:||Re: Drain/Damage Resistance|
|Date:||Fri, 8 Sep 1995 14:40:06 -0400|
> Marc A Renouf wrote:
> > Untrue. Drain rolls, like all other kinds of damage resistance
> > rolls, are unmodified by wound category modifiers. The spell will be
> > more difficult to cast, but resisting its drainm will be the same. Just
> > thought I'd throw that out there for ya. :)
> Marc, I hate to do this, but I'm going to have to ask for a page reference
> on that one.
[Combat and Damage Resistance cites deleted]
> So, here we have a ruling that doesn't mention wether or not Damage
> modifiers come into play... But, as they generally do, I'd have to say they
> are taken into consideration.
> I still want to see the reference for the general case of Damage
> Resistance, though...
Okay, here we go. Shadowrun II (softcover), page 112, second
column, second paragraph:
"The INJURY MODIFIER is a universal target number modifier that
applies to nearly all Success Tests the injured character may attempt,
except those involving attempts to resist damage or avoid damage."
It's a little obscure (just one small paragraph), and I couldn't find
other references (I think there's one more in there somewhere) but it
was the same way in SRI, so it was no surprise to us when we started
playing SRII that the modifiers didn't count against damage resistance