|From:||Brett Borger <bxb121@***.EDU>|
|Subject:||FASAMike takes on the world|
|Date:||Tue, 18 Nov 1997 08:30:23 +0000|
(or more specifically, his clarifications on an earlier set of
answers.). Topics include Etiquette concentrations, The Sub-adept
system, and others.
------- Forwarded Message Follows -------
Date: Mon, 17 Nov 1997 15:58:38 -0500 (EST)
Subject: Re: Shadowrun Questions
<SNIP original question/answer)
>Let me clarify: Using the Build points (as opposed to Priority)
>system, I can get a Body of 6 for 12 points. OR I can get a body of
>1 for 2, then get 5 Bonus attribute Points for 5 more, for a total of
>6 points. Body 6 in both cases, one costs 6 the other 12. There is
>I told my runners that Bonus Force Points, Bonus skill Points, and
>Bonus attribute Point were only available if the character was taking
>Edges and Flaws to a Priority created character. If using only
>Points, they weren't available (which is what I took as your intent).
> Is this correct? Or can any Point-built character save 6 points on
>the Attribute section?
Well, I am a person who writes, designs and creates things based on the
spirit of the game...which obviosuly raping the rules to get a numerical
advantage doesn't sit to well with me. As a GM I wouldn't allow what your
players are trying to do - I would require the base to zero to be in effect -
Edges and Flaws equal zero. So 5 points of addtional attribute points would
mean 5 points in Flaws.
>> >V) According to the MetaHuman Albinoism section (COMPANION), albinos
>> >receive a +1 Willpower. Does this apply to the Racial maximum as
>> >well, or only to the attribute with the racial maximum the same?
>> I'm not sure what you are asking here. But that does count toward
>> racial maximum. You are better than the best Troll, just different.
>I was asking if I could get the maximum Willpower for my race, then
>up it by 1, or if I still had the same maximum, I just got a "free"
>point. You answered the question, thanks.
>Also: Does this apply to human Albinos? (are you using Metahuman to
>mean the 5(+) subspecies or to refer to all non-"normal" humans?)
Metahumanity actully includes humans...so the answer is yes the rules above
apply to humans.
>> >XIII) In SRII, you say "the Etiquette skill is a special skill that
>> >requires a Concentration". Does this mean the character gets a +1
>> >to the skill during creation, or only that there are multiple
>> >Etiquette Skills? If it really is a Concentration, how do you set
>> >up defaults when the character begins the game with multiple
>> No, you do not get +1. Etiquette skills are unique and don't
>> function like the regular ones. While each is in fact a
>> Concentration they all act like the main skill for defaulting
>I'm not sure I understand....
>1) I don't get a +1 at creation....that part I get.
>2) I pay ?Concentration? costs to raise/purchase with Karma?
>3) They all act like the main skill for defaulting....what if:
>-A) I have Etiquette:Corp 4 and use it instead of Street?
>-B) I have Etiquette:Corp 5 and E:Tribal 5 and need Street?
>-C) I have no skill, does the fact that I need a Concentration affect
>defaulting from other skills? I'm guessing no, from your comment.
>4) Do I purchase multiple Etiquettes (at creation and later) as if
>they had no connection to each other?
You do pay Concentration costs for raiseing or purchasing an Etiquette skill.
You use the base skill to raise or lower it.
A and B) You default to Charisma (+4) on the Target number
C) You default to Charisma (+4)
These rules will be fixed in Shadowrun 3rd edition.
>> >XIV) Would Centering skills such as Mystic Gestures (Kuji-kiri) and
>> >Arcane Mutterings be Special skills that counted as Specializations,
>> >Concentrations, or a General skill? What is the overall tendancy
>> >for Centering skills?
>> Special skills, again do not follow the normal rules of skill. They
>> are neither Concentration or Specializations they exist separetly. A
>> character would only ever take a single centering skill for
>> something very specific. They don't default or anything. The
>> Centering Skill operates outside the normal rules and exist
>> sptrictly as a Special skill as per SR2 p. 74.
>Unless I'm wrong (always possible, but I looked fairly hard) that
>doesn't say which category to treat the skill as for purposes of
>Raising/purchasing/getting at creation.
You would only get a Centering Skill once you have the centering metamagic
intiate power. So you would not get one at character creation - at least I
wouldn't allow it.I would treat them as Concentrations for improvement
(although the first one should be treated as a regular skill 2x).
>> >XVII) Using the Companion, can Physical Adepts take the Magical
>> >Talent of Astral Sight? Doesn't that render the 2 point Astral
>> >Perception Power too expensive for anyone to take?
>> Well, here's the philosphical distinction between number crunching
>> and character creation. Sure it's "cheaper" to go the Magical Talent
>> way, but you get a Flaw. You can alos spend the Physad points to get
>This sounds as if you are assuming Flaw pointsíge points. This
>isn't true for Point Built characters. (Or did I miss a rule?!?)
>> it and have no Flaw and make it part f the characaters growth. If
>> you are doing it to "break the bank" then I have aproblem with it,
>> but if you are doing it for character development then I have no
>> problem with it. This is a spirit of the game question and I always
>> will rule in favor of the spirit of the game versus the rapeing the
>> rules "to win".
>Naturally role-playing is great....but my players are using Point
>Only Built Characters....so the flaw question never comes up....and
>my players want to know what is "official". (so do I)
>Also, Steve Kenson explained how he intended for all the Magical
>Talent Edges to represent a sort of Sub-Adept, which contrasts with
>the line in the companion stating that only characters WITH a Magic
>Attribute could take them (Steve said he meant for the characters
>with the Edge to have an effective Magic attribute, much as the
>spirit watchers (Spokenkeirken?) from the Germany Sourcebook.) Is
>this an official correction (he said only you could declare that) or
>is the printed version to stand? (BTW, Steve's version makes a LOT
>more sense, both in use and balance)
No it's not an offical answer. What Steve wanted (and we still go around and
around on this) was "mundanes" to kind of have a magical spark...I have no
problem with this except that every "mundane" would take Hellblast of
PowerBolt and you would have no check and balance on the Street Sam with a
magical ablity. He hadn't thought of that and so our compromise was what you
read. I stand by it because it allows magical characters to do things they
normally wouldn't. So in this case the Companion and me are right, Steve's
intentions are not. I also think the Germany stuff is way too abuseable. I
would never have let that be printed. Finally, to answer your begining
questions...Yes at character creation the Edge Astral Magical Talent of
Astral Sight can be taken by the physical adept. Yes that means that the
chracter can "cheat the system" and not take the adept power that does the
same thing. But remember not everyone uses that Edge and Flaw system - plus
Edges and Flaws can only be taken at character creation, but adpet powers can
be bought at any time.
>> >XIX) Using the Companion, does use of the Magical Talent Edge of
>> >Innate Spell Ability require the user to have a sorcery skill? Can
>> >characters with normal spell casting abilities take this edge to
>> >have one innate spell?
>> I assume by "normal" you mean mundane (non-magical). If that is the
>> case then no they cannot take this Edge.
>ACtually, I meant a shaman character taking an Innate spell, so that
>the Force of that particular spell was tied to his magic rating. If
>we go with Steve's version of the Sub-Adept, this becomes moot.
>Does A character with the Innate Spell ability need Sorcery? Or can
>he cast without a Magic Pool?
He needs Sorcery...
>> >XX) The Detect Individual Spell (SRII): How much needs to be known
>> >about the target to cast it? A case rose up recently where the
>> >caster had seen the target, but did not know her name. In another
>> >case, the opposite was true. What about only knowing the street
>> I think you need to re-read the spell. You must name the individual
>> that you want detected. Therofre only havein a picture and not the
>> name would not work.
>> In the second case...the street name, what if more than one person
>> has the
>> same street name. It would go off all the time. What you want is to
>> narrow it down to a specific use.
>Hmm..But it would work with just a street name? (Images of the John
>Smith convention running through my head). I guess I just needed to
>know what "defined" the name. Does the target need to use it
>himself? (herself?) What if they are tracking someone known to the
>enemy, but that is not what the person calls himself.
The parameters make it that the character must know, the character...my
suggustion is that the character needs to have actully seen the person "live"
in order for the spell to work.
>> >XXIII) Anchors and Spell Links (GRIMOIRE II): How specific can we
>> >get with the Activation link? Can we specify a Command phrase?
>> >Command condition? (a man with a red shirt and one foot waves the
>> >anchor in a specific method?)
>> As specific as the mage want it to be. Obviously the more specific
>> the less chance of it activating by accident.
>But we could indeed (despite the obvious problems, this is just an
>example) make an arrowhead/bullet anchor that would activate once it
>entered a body with a single activation link?
>> >XXVI) In SRII, I understand why someone would take cybereyes, as
>> >they can put in up to .5 worth of enhancements without further
>> >essence loss. However, why would a character take cyberears?
>> >(barring loss of the natural ones) They can't really save anything
>> >essence-wise. Is there need for cyberears if the character is
>> >taking multiple aural enhancements?
>> Each ear gets .2 enhancements free...I don't understand why that's
>> not good.
>Can you take enhancements WITHOUT getting the replacement though? If
>so, the replacement isn't worth it. If not, you better put that in
>the description of the gear somewhere, because it isn't there now.
I'm sorry I misunderstood...no you need the ears to take the enhancements.
Shadowrun Line Developer